I stand alone, as on a star

I stand alone

As on a star

In an alien zone

Stranded and strayed

Relentlessly seeking

from afar

 

I stand alone

As on a star

If only I’ve known

for better or worse

nothing gold remains

but scar

 

I stand alone

As on a star

Heart sinks heavy as stone

Solid but cracked

Plunged down and tightly sealed

In a jar

 

I stand alone

As on a star

Gravity-less I roam

Spacious and free

Where true light shines right through

who we are

 

I stand alone

As on a star

Will I ever find One

Sincere and true

that absolutely nothing

can mar?


*inspired by a quote from Sisi Museum Vienna

“I flee from the world and all its pleasures, 

And its people are remote from me today,

Their joys and their sorrows are alien to me.

I stand alone, as on a star.” 

written on the bus ride to Prague from Vienna 2013 March*

 

Leave a Reply

